Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What transport capability is documented for the Hometown bag?
The exact manufacturer page identifies a stand bag with an X-Fit dual-strap system, supporting walking carry. It does not state cart use or list a cart-strap channel, so confirm any cart setup separately.
Explore this need in the finder →What is the Hometown top and divider layout?
The page lists an eight-inch four-way top and four individual dividers running the length of the bag, plus an internal compression bottom. These do not guarantee room for a particular set of grips or headcovers.
Explore this need in the finder →Does 21.3 L show pocket volume, and is the canvas waterproof?
The maker labels 21.3 L as Capacity, not pocket volume. It describes the waxed canvas as water resistant but gives no waterproof rating in the reviewed page; verify any needed rain-cover package separately.
Explore this need in the finder →The Sun Mountain Hometown Waxed Canvas Stand Bag is a commemorative 250th-anniversary edition built around a different proposition from a technical carry model: 12-ounce waxed canvas, a limited run that the maker states is 1,776 pieces, and seven pockets arranged around a four-way top. The exact U.S. page lists a 5.8 lb empty weight and 21.3 L of “Capacity.” That capacity label is not the same as a documented pocket-volume measure, so the bag does not satisfy a positive pocket-volume minimum in the finder.
Material and edition are the identity
Sun Mountain describes the body as 12oz waxed canvas, says it is water resistant and notes that the finish develops a patina over time. Those are the manufacturer’s material claims, not a waterproof rating or the result of an independent rain test. If weather protection is the priority, ask what the bag and its seams are rated for and confirm whether a rain cover is included in the seller’s package. The exact feature and specification sections reviewed here do not list a rain hood as included or specify a dedicated rain-hood pocket.
The maker identifies this as a limited-edition U.S. 250th-anniversary design and says each bag is individually numbered, with a 1,776-piece production run. That makes exact edition identity and authenticity part of the purchase check. The family JSON contains one default variant, SKU 1030-01; it does not expose a functional color selector. The official gallery depicts the red, natural-canvas and navy commemorative palette, but the one family record should not be treated as a range of interchangeable finishes unless a current source confirms that.
A modest top count with named storage features
The page lists an eight-inch, four-way top and four individual dividers that run the length of the bag. The dual-strap system is called X-Fit, and an internal compression bottom is another stated design feature. Those details support a walking-oriented stand-bag comparison. They do not establish clearance for your clubs, headcovers or grips, and the maker does not publish the width of each divider opening. Try your own set in the actual top if the layout is a deciding factor.
Seven pockets include an apparel pocket, a magnetic-opening snow-fur-lined rangefinder pocket, a snow-fur-lined valuables pocket and an insulated cooler pouch. The page does not specify the pocket dimensions or show that any particular garment or bottle fits. The 21.3 L figure is labeled Capacity; this review does not infer seven pockets’ combined volume from that number. Its listed 5.8 lb weight also describes the empty bag, not the loaded carry you will experience after adding clubs, balls, clothes and water.
Where it sits beside other stand bags
The Hometown is a four-way, dual-strap stand bag, but its edition and fabric distinguish it from the current polyester E-3.5 and from other Sun Mountain families. The E-3.5 lists a lighter 5.0 lb empty weight and eleven pockets, while the Hometown is 5.8 lb with seven pockets and a waxed-canvas body. The figures do not prove which will be more comfortable or durable; they help identify the differing emphasis. The Sun Mountain TQR is another four-way waxed-canvas assessment, but the Hometown’s commemorative finish, 12-ounce material statement and 1,776-unit run should not be assumed to describe that model.
The exact product page reviewed here does not document a cart strap channel or explicitly describe this bag for cart use. Its stand and shoulder straps support a walking-oriented match, but do not prove universal cart compatibility. If you routinely ride or push, verify the Hometown’s current cart guidance and test the bag with your own equipment before treating its stand-bag design as a mixed-use feature.
Who should consider this edition
It may suit a buyer who specifically wants the limited commemorative canvas design, an X-Fit dual-strap arrangement, four full-length dividers and the named pocket layout. The design’s collectible element is not a performance rating; the production limit should not be confused with a quality guarantee or a promise that an offer is authentic. A buyer seeking the lightest reviewed walking bag, many separate pockets, confirmed pocket volume or a documented cart arrangement should compare other products as well.
Before purchasing, verify the full Hometown Waxed Canvas name, SKU 1030-01, the numbered-edition details and the exact seller package. Check the body and cover weather claims separately, and try the top and straps with the clubs and load you will carry. This assessment is based on manufacturer pages and product records; it does not claim ownership, use, a carry trial, weather test or long-term durability evaluation.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Bag category | Carry/stand bag |
|---|---|
| Top divider layout | 4-way top |
| Empty bag weight | 5.8 lb |
| Pocket count | 7 |
| Listed body material | 12oz waxed canvas |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
See whether this setup fits your round
Compare the bag's documented configuration with your walking, cart, divider and storage needs; then verify the exact finish and package with the seller.
